Tags

, , , , , , ,

I will admit it: I am a lip balm addict. I keep tubes stashed in my nightstand, in the desk, on the coffee table, the bathroom countertop, and in my purse. I recently became frustrated by the fact that (despite my constant re-application) my lips were still dry!

I did some research and learned that the synthetic flavorings most over-the-counter lip balms are made with cause us to lick our lips more than usual – which, in turn, causes our lips to dry out! So, to battle this cycle of dryness, I decided to start making my own balms.

After some experimenting, I found a formula that is easy, nourishing, smells great – and doesn’t include any synthetics or flavorings. The ingredients can be found at any health food store, and you can customize the scent with essential oils and botanical extracts of your choice. What follows is the basic recipe I use in my own Lip Cremès™ — which will for sale for the first time this weekend at Tulsa’s Indie Emporium (and also available in my Etsy shop soon)! **P.S. The balms are now available in the shop here!!**

Tools/Equipment:

A heat-proof container with a spout (a glass measuring cup works well)

A hot pad or coffee maker

A measuring spoon (tsp.)

Something to stir with (a chopstick is perfect)

1 or 2 empty lip balm tubes or small lip balm pots with lids

Ingredients:

2 tsp. Cocoa butter

1 tsp. Beeswax (you can buy the pellets or grate your own)

1 tsp Jojoba oil (or coconut oil)

2-3 drops liquid Vitamin E (optional)

A couple drops of the essential oils of your choice (also optional)

Directions:

Add all of the ingredients (except the essential oil) to your glass measuring cup. Place the cup on your heating source. Stir regularly until the ingredients melt completely. Add your essential oils and stir again. Remove and carefully pour the ingredients into your containers. This recipe should make approx. 2 tubes of balm. Let the balm cool for at least 10 minutes before using. Voila!

Helpful Hints:

  • Don’t use more than 5-10 drops of essential oil for this recipe. EO’s are very strong and should only be used small amounts when applied to the skin.
  • Feel free to experiment with the ratios – more beeswax for a waxier balm or more oil for a glossier feel.
  • I personally like using essential oils with edible smells (note: most essential oils do not have a taste in small quantities) — ginger, anise, citrus oils, spicy oils, vanilla, cocoa are a few favorites.

If you try out this recipe, let me know how it goes!

Fragrantly Yours, Tara

