Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I decided to temporarily use these beautiful images by Alphonse Mucha for my Fall/Winter perfume line.

I cheerfully welcomed three new perfumes into my shop this past week: Saffron & Balsam, Coffee and & Cedar, and Gingerbread & Fir.

I was so excited about my Fall/Winter perfume line that I just couldn’t wait until mid-September to introduce them! That’s why I’ve decided to offer them for pre-order in the Etsy shop. Aside from the fact that you can receive your new scents before they are even “officially” available, there is another little incentive to pre-order — free shipping! Pre-orders will ship between September 5th and September 15th (depending on the date of your order), after which time the free shipping special ends and regular shipping prices kick back in.

Salammbo by Alphonse Mucha

The Fall/Winter fragrances can be summed up in three words: Woody. Spicy. Delicious.

My current favorite (yes, I’m already pretending it’s Fall) is Saffron & Balsam. This is one of the most complex perfumes I have made to date, and it encompasses every alluring scent that I associate with the far East. It features potent spices like saffron and cardamom blended with incense resins such as frankincense, labdanum and myrrh. It also highlights the sweet, heady blossoms of jasmine sambac, rose, orange blossom, and ylang ylang. Saffron & Balsam was inspired by the character of Salammbo in  the novel by French writer Gustave Flaubert: a dangerous beauty in the time of ancient Carthage. I think it captures her spirit well! And isn’t the image of her (above) by Alphonse Mucha amazing??

Coffee & Cedar has been a labor of love. I have been working on incorporating coffee extract into a perfume for some time now, and have finally come up with a blend that I adore. This fragrance is wonderfully unisex, woody, and brimming with the smell of fresh brewed coffee with just a hint of sugar. It also contains lavender, which I think gives it an unexpectedly bright, clean quality. This is definitely a “wrist-sniffer” (my term for a perfume that makes you keep sniffing your own wrist where you applied it, and thus making you look a little crazy).

Gingerbread & Fir is like a winter wonderland! It captures the sweet, nostalgic scent of winter — fragrant fir trees, traditional winter spices like cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove, and comforting vanilla. I must admit there is something about this perfume that makes me think of the story of Hansel and Gretel. As a girl, I imagined the fun of an entire house made of sweets…this brings me back to those musings: standing in the cold, snow-covered forest, inhaling the fragrance of a giant gingerbread house…ready to start nibbling! As an adult, it still sounds terribly tempting to my sweet tooth.

Summer Floral Mini Oil Trio from Plume

Another big event in the shop is Plume’s upcoming Summer Sale…

My three limited-edition summer floral perfumes will no longer be available after September (Damask Rose, Orange Blossom, and Indian Jasmine). All summer floral minis, oils, and solids will be 20% off starting on September 5th (Labor Day), so mark your calendars.

I am a little sad to see them go, but I will definitely consider bringing them back again in the future. If there was a particular scent that you really adored, let me know and I will keep it in mind for next year…

Well, I’ve chattered enough for now, my friends. I hope you enjoy the new perfumes as much as I do. Happy end of summer!

Fragrantly Yours, Tara

